The Africa Region of the World Confederation for Physical Therapy (WCPT-Africa) was formed in 1991 as one of the five autonomous regional organisation of the world body, WCPT, which is a non-profit organisation comprising 111 Member Organisations (including 20 from Africa), WCPT’s Regions were created to encourage opportunities for more frequent contact among members with similar cultural, economic and social outlooks.
The Africa region took off with a six (6) countries; South Africa, Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The Africa Regional membership continues to grow at a steady pace. WCPT-A has been active in supporting its Member Organisations achieve better structured physiotherapy services and education programmes. The region is gradually facing out diploma programmes and focusing first degress and higher. As regional meetings continue to be held on a regular basis, the potential of regionalization will continue to be exploited to the full.
The inaugural meeting of WCPT A was hosted by the Zambia Society of Physiotherapy in 1991 and the first Congress and General meeting were held
WCPT-A saw a first African; Dorcas Madzivire of Zimbabwe elected as Vice President WCPT in 1999
In 2000, WCPTA was represented by 3 Member countries at the evidence-based practice (EBP) expert meeting organized by WCPT in London

In 2002, the first Regional mini-conference was held in Swaziland and birthed the Swaziland manifesto ( provide Link)

In 2003, WCPT Africa's CBR document presented to the WCPT general meeting

In 2005, a second Regional mini-conference held in Namibia and yielded the Namibia manifesto

In 2007, the Regional website was launched in preparation for the congress in Nigeria and the second African; Zola Dantile of South Africa was elected Vice president WCPT

The WCPT Africa secretariat was established in South Africa in 2008        

2009 brought along the revival of the Regional newsletter